I am delighted to be beginning a 2-year term as President of our association. I would like to extend my deep gratitude towards Sara Jamieson, Outgoing President, who leaves the Association in excellent standing.

I’m very lucky to be able to count on a promising executive council which includes members who have been involved for a long time. A number of these members are continuing in their roles: Steven Urquhart as Treasurer and Jimmy Thibeault as Chair of the Gabrielle Roy prize – French section; Andrea Cabajasky is now the Chair of the Gabrielle Roy prize – English section. We also welcome new members to the council: Shelley Hulan and Scott Powers, Vice-Presidents (Anglophone and Francophone, respectively) as well as Medrie Purdham who joins us as Local Coordinator to help with organizing the 2018 conference at the University of Regina. Misao Dean and Sylvie Bérard have already taken charge of our Facebook page to keep you up to date.

The entire team will work hard this year to prepare a stimulating annual conference which will allow us the opportunity to gather together and share our research. In order to help us achieve this goal, we ask for your active participation: please respond to the call for papers by sending proposals for member-organized panels and paper proposals. Furthermore, don’t hesitate to send me any relevant announcements (conferences, calls for papers, available positions etc.) so that I may pass them on to our mailing list.

Now that we have a functioning website (thanks Sara!), we will work to make it more interactive and comprehensive over the next few weeks.