Barbara-Godard Prize Regulations

The ACQL Barbara-Godard Prize for Best Paper by an Emerging Scholar

In order to encourage new directions in research, ACQL decided in May 2005 to offer an annual prize for the best paper presented at the annual conference by an emerging scholar. In 2010, the prize was renamed in honour of the late Barbara Godard, a well-respected Canadian literary scholar who was strongly involved with ACQL since its inception and was especially dedicated to her students.

To be considered, applicants must:

be an MA or PhD student or postdoctoral researcher;
be a member of ACQL;
submit a proposal for a paper to the annual conference;
submit an electronic copy of the paper to ACQL President no later than two weeks before the conference.

The judging committee will be formed by the ACQL President.

Judging will be based on the written paper. The principal criteria of judgment will be:

originality of the subject;
innovation and impact of the research in the discipline;
clarity of communication.

The winner of the prize will receive a selection of books, and a subscription to Canadian Literature. By special arrangement, Canadian Literature has agreed to send the paper for review, and to post it on the journal’s website (see papers here).